top of page

Our Team 

The Society for UAP Studies is firmly committed to bringing together thinkers, ideas, and research from both the humanities and from STEM. We believe that only when scientific and humanistic pursuits keep close company will there be true progress on the most difficult of problems humanity faces. The UAP phenomenon is no different — it especially benefits from having a plurality of minds engaged in disciplined debate.

Both our Board of Directors and our Advisory Board reflect this vision.


Our Board of Advisors works closely with the President of the Society and its Board of Directors. The function of the Advisory Board is to ensure that the Society is steered in an academically and empirically responsible direction, consistent with its overarching mission and goals. In addition to its function as a steering committee, during its official meetings the Advisory Board has the opportunity to vote on actionable items proposed by the President and/or Executive Director of the Society. Finally, the Advisory Board can, reciprocally, make strategic or structural proposals to the President and/or Executive Director of the Society, for potential adoption by its Board of Directors - rounding out the Advisory Board's function as a robust steering committee.

Board of Advisors

Michael Bohlander, Dr. Jur.

Chair in Global Law & SETI Policy

Durham University, U.K.

Mark Elowitz, Ph.D.

Science Advisor

Galileo Project

Baptiste Friscourt

Professeur certifié d'arts plastiques

Ministere de l'education nationale et de la Jeunesse, rectorat de l'académie de Reims, France

Kevin H. Knuth, Ph.D.

Prof. of Physics

State University of New York, Albany | UAPx

Ted Peters, Ph.D.

Distinguished Research Professor of Systematic Theology and Ethics

Graduate Theological Union

Nikola Schmidt, Ph.D.

Lecturer | Lead Researcher

Charles University, Prague | Prague Institute of International Relations

Michaël Vaillant


UAP Check | former consultant to CNES/GEIPAN, France

Michael E. Zimmerman, Ph.D.

Prof. Emeritus of Philosophy

University of Colorado, Boulder

Bill Chalker

Independent Researcher


Kimberly Engels, Ph.D.

Assoc. Prof. of Philosophy

Molloy University

Steven Fuller, Ph.D.

Auguste Comte Chair in Social Epistemology

University of Warwick, U.K.

James Madden, Ph.D.

Prof. of Philosophy

Benedictine University

Christian Peters, Ph.D.

Managing Director

BIGSSS, University of Bremen

Erling Strand, Ph.D.

Asst. Prof. of Computer Science & Communications (Ret.)

Østfold University College, Norway | Project Hessdalen

Beatriz Villarroel, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Astrophysics

Nordic Institute of Physics, Sweden

Brenda Denzler, Ph.D.

Independent Researcher


Jérôme Ezan, Ph.D.


Neurocentre Magendie-INSERM U1215; Bordeaux, France

Rich Hoffman

Executive Board

Scientific Coalition for UAP Studies

Tim Murithi, Ph.D.

Extradordinary Prof. of African Studies

University of Free State, South Africa | ICER

Inbar Pincu

Ph.D. Student, Dept. of International Relations

Hebrew University of Jerusalem

Massimo Teodorani, Ph.D.

Independent Researcher & Contributing Member

Project Hessdalen | SCU

Wesley Watters, Ph.D.

Assoc. Prof. & Chair of Astronomy

Wellesley College | Galileo Project

Greg Eghigian, Ph.D.

Prof. of History & Bioethics

Penn State University

Stephen Finley, Ph.D.

Inaugural Chair & Assoc. Prof. of African and African American Studies

Louisiana State University

Paul Kingsbury, Ph.D.

Assoc. Dean & Prof. of Geography

Simon Fraser University, Canada | SCU

Filipe Nascimento, Ph.D.

Sir Henry Wellcome Postdoctoral Research Fellow

University College London, U.K.

Mark Rodeghier, Ph.D.

President & Scientific Director

J. Allen Hynek Center for UFO Studies (CUFOS)

Michael Uhall, Ph.D.

Adjunct Professor, Political Science

Indiana University East

Jinwoo Yu


Korean UAP Research Network

Board of Directors

Our Board of Directors is responsible for the organization as a nonprofit corporate entity. The specific direction that the organization takes as a learned & professional society is shaped by the Society's Advisory Board, which functions as a steering committee.

bottom of page